top of page

Buckeye Kayak Fishing Trail



2021 Schedule letter.jpg

At the end of the season 20 anglers participated in the two day CLASSIC. 

Chris Hannegan went into The Classic with a lead in trail points, but several anglers including Brock Spencer, Reece Stoughton, Shawn Skidmore were still within striking distance and Dick Nauta was still not mathematically eliminated.

The format for The Classic in 2021 changed to a two day event on Clendening Lake.

Day 1 saw 20 anglers catch 36 fish and Shawn Skidmore and Matt Davis as the only two anglers posting a 5 fish limit. 

Shawn's 72.5" total led the way with Matt Davis only 1.5" behind.  The rest of the field had a lot of work to do to catch up on Day 2 including anglers in the hunt for not only the Classic title, but also the AOY as now Shawn had a lead in both.  Day 2 saw 30 fish caught and the 2020 Classic Champ, Darrell Cornelius, had the largest bag with 79.5"  In the end Shawn Skidmore posted another 5 fish limit (77.25") and swept both the Classic and the 2021 Angler of the Year titles.  The final standings can be found HERE.

When all the dust settled in 2020 the following titles were awarded:

2020 Angler of the Year - Shawn Skidmore

2020 The Classic Champion - Shawn Skidmore

2020 Online Warrior - Jason Isaacs

The full final 2021 Standings can be found HERE.

The standings for each individual 2021 event along with every fish submitted can be found HERE.

BKFT, a partner club of Kayak Bass Fishing (KBF), is also a pathway for the KBF National Championship.  BKFT awards spots based on the end of year trail points.  The event is due to be held on Kentucky Lake, Tennessee October 19-21, 2022. 

2021 was year two of the partnership with Ohio B.A.S.S. Nation and the B.A.S.S. National Kayak Championship.  The format remained unchanged from year 1 and took an anglers best two out of three scores.  34 anglers participated and 4 landed the coveted qualifying spots for the Championship being held on Richard B Russell Lake in Anderson, South Carolina on March 2-3, 2022.  The four qualifiers include Robert Weiker, Joel Nau, Brock Spencer, and Everett Sheets.

2022 Schedule copy.jpg
2017 Flyer.jpg
2020 Final Schedule.jpg
2016 Flyer.jpg
BKFT 2019 Flyer.jpg
2015 Flyer.jpg
2018 Flyer.jpg
2014 flyer2.jpg
2013 Flyer.jpg

The Buckeye  Kayak Fishing Trail is presented by:

bottom of page